And someone stole a heart

Was I offered a million hearts
I would have heard him sing for them
I had to hear them beat a rhythm, but
Someone stole a heart.. again.

When I looked into the lake
A reflection I saw, curiously awake
Questions galore, what could I say?
And someone stole a heart again.

Far far away, thousands of miles in space
I see the magic faraway tree – and an enchanting place
I try to hear those million hearts sing
But someone stole a heart.. again.

As the winds rose towards the skies
I yearn to see that face arise
A robber I wished to catch ‘red-handed’
Someone stole a heart.. again

I expect to see bundles of hearts
At the end of the earth where the horizon gleams
But I want more to see the face that steals
That Someone who steals hearts time and again..

How many hearts, how many beats
How many more moments in peace?
Each frozen in time and space,
Touching the heart and stealing it away.

I have not a million hearts with me,
But each time you try and look at me,
Every single word that strikes home,
Is how you steal a heart again..

Again and yet again, you do it too
How may I ask you to stop it now?
Do I though want you to stop it too?
Or may I learn it from you to do?

May I steal a heart again,
May I freeze moments in time?
May I grab that tiny space,
And may I steal your heart again?

16 Comments

  1. That is so beautiful!!!
    While reading, i found it was PERFECT for a song!!! I really wish you could get in touch with someone who might put some nice misc on it!!, I’m sure it would have a great success!!!!

    Like

  2. My friend Punam,
    You write with deep emotions and invisible tears (smile). Your words were very touching to my heart. The man that will not allow you to steal his heart have not been born yet. Love as you know, never fails……humans do. GREAT post!!

    Like

If you have 'walked with me into the woods', a blog post at a time, do tell me how you felt in the comments section below :)

