The thirteenth floor

“I can’t believe you have brought me to streets like these!!!”

“I just can’t believe this!! Aaahh, look at the muck – the street can hardly fit one car.” And half of it is filled up with garbage. She regretted having called the local guy to ask for electronic stores. Who knew this street would turn out to be a nightmare.

The cheek of this man with her – the street was so narrow, that they had to CLIMB platforms to cross hurdles.. and he did not even offer a hand! As if she did Spider Man stunts day in and day out…The cheek!!

“I can’t believe you are so fussy!” He said. “I am the one who doesn’t live here.. I have no problems. You are just being too fussy. see? This is why I bought such big boots. BTW I need another pair of those.” A cocky smile.

She raises her eyes in desperation! Men and their big boots. Hmmph!

“You better treat me to a good lunch after all this, I tell you.”

As they approach the Thirteenth Floor, he tells her how he had visited this restaurant with another friend and that it was a good place. She was just hungry. She didn’t care which floor it was, as long as they had food to eat. And well, the restaurant actually was on the thirteenth floor and was named so. Not bad.. they entered and he pointed towards the balcony where there were tables set up in open air.. under the skies..

Ahh.. now she smiles. She likes it. She likes this. 13th floor. What a view – they took a table near the parapet. The metro was visible below. She had never sat in the metro. She hadn’t bothered to figure out how to do that. Who cares.

She looked at the man who sat before her. His grey kurta looked royal on his broad shoulders. He had a smile on his face. A scrumptious lunch ensued, with little moments of love. She looked at him and wondered again. There were undercurrents between them, of uncertainty and tension. Both of them had their own battles to fight, but were scrambling for some moments of peace together. She thought, I can not live without him.

Of course she didn’t say that to him. They had a mutual understanding of avoiding the impending serious issues. Instead, she said, “Thanks for this wonderful lunch. It is as romantic as I would have wanted it to be. I love you.” This day would remain with her until the last day of her life. For some, these little joys are everyday affairs, but for some like her, they are like diamonds. You can’t have them again and again. Maybe only once. That’s all you can do before getting broke.

As they got up to leave, he wanted to click a few pictures of the view from the 13th floor. But of course, women – he knew she would protest if she wasn’t made a part of those pictures. So he cleverly and smartly takes one picture of hers, and then gets busy with click click click, capturing the metro below and some good cityscapes. Of course she sees through the ruse. She does protest a bit. But she is still reeling under the beauty of the lunch – the quiet togetherness, the romantic climate, the view, the entire feel of those two hours.

As the lift traversed to the ground floor, she told him, ‘Don’t ever leave me and go away.”

All he said was, “Haanji.”

11 Comments

    • Reema, I don’t know yeah.. no one has complained. May be you can check out other posts and if its still pursuing, if you could send me a screenshot please, I would try figuring out what is wrong.. Thank u for coming.. my efforts.. but not as awesome as your story-weaving expertise. Your comment here gives me encouragement. Thank youuuu!! 🙂

      Like

  1. this one gave me goosebumps 🙂

    Sheerly because of the difference in approach to one thing that both men and women have. You managed to highlight it so beautifully!

    I wish we women could stop being so emotional about everything and anything in lives…but then perhaps that would no longer be US, right?
    😉

    Like

    • Ohhh yesssssss we are we yeah – men better respect us. U know.. one of my best friend’s wife, put it so awesomely..
      “We women are made for the better things in life, the special things in life.. we can’t do the menial things like driving a car/bike, and all. For that the men are there na.” he he.. the discussion was about how neither she nor I know how to drive a bike.. and I admitted I dont know how to ride a bicycle either… pathetic na.. to that this royal statement was her reply. I want to take it to heart and I want to throw the attitude of being a lady. Why not yaar.. 🙂

      Like

If you have 'walked with me into the woods', a blog post at a time, do tell me how you felt in the comments section below :)

