Musical Monday: Dungar dukh na de

Background: This song is based on an old Sindhi folklore, akin to Heer and Ranjha. This is about Sassi and Punnu, two lovers who are separated after marriage.

The song is a beautiful amalgamation of spiritual love with that of the earthly love legends of Sassi and Punnu, a tragic folktale of unfulfilled romantic destiny of “Sassi”, a daughter of a king of Bhamboor (who was abandoned right after birth by her parents, but was later found and adopted by a washer man of this same village) and “Punnu”, who was the son of king from Baluchistan.

Poet says just as Sassi called for her love from one end of the mountain (“Dungar”) that separated the two, to reach out to her husband and love Punnu, after they were separated right after their marriage,

I call you, my lord, from this earth, as I am awake and have tasted the pleasure of your love. I implore you to take my soul to a higher plane…for I am tired of this petty existence and the pain of this separation from you. I long to live in your peaceful abode and sing in your praise.

The Poet says I have seen the world and its devious ways, I want to take the journey to you, no matter how tough it is, just as Sassi undertook the arduous journey from one end of the village to the other and walked for miles before she breathed her last in her pursuit of love. All I request is for you to help ensure that no obstacle ever hampers my journey to you…my Lord…my love.

Source: wikipedia

From the ends of the earth I call to you,
Call as my heart grows faint,
From the ends of the earth I call to you, when my heart is overwhelmed,
Lead me, Lead me, lead me to the rock,
Lead me, lead me, lead me to the rock that is higher than I,
Higher than I, higher than I,
Hear my cry,
hear my voice, lift me up,
I call to you,
Dungar Dukh na de, Adaade, Pand pachadi aaya
Dungar Dukh na de, Adaade, Pand pachadi aaya
Dungar Dukh na de,
 Dungar = Mountain
Dukh = pain
adade = elder brother
Dungar dukh na de = O Mountain, don’t cause me pain, brother
Pand = distances (having travelled so many feet)
pachade = left behind
aaya = have come
Pand pachade aaya = I have come having left long distances behind me
Lord, In your house I long to dwell, in your presence I sing
Chad da si jabbal chot te, Bhalom jaani Khan miya
Chad da si jabbal chot te, Sassi saathan ke bai saade, Addade
saathan ke pai sadde Adaade Pand pachadi aaya.
Dungar Dukh na de, Adaade,
Dungar Dukh na de, Adaa de,
Pand pachadi aaya Bhalo miya, Dungar Dukh na de,
From the ends of the earth I call to you,
Long as my heart goes free,
From the ends of the earth I call to you, when my heart is overwhelmed,
Lead me, Lead me, lead me to the rock,
Lead me, lead me, lead me to the rock that is higher than I,
Laaloon Laal lafit je, Bhalom jaani Khan miya
Laaloon Laal lafit je, Chakhaviya Hiit Chade
Adaade
Chakha viya Hiit Chade, Adaa De
Pand pachadi aaya
Dungar Dukh na de, Adaa de,
Dungar Dukh na de, Adaa de,
Pand pachadi aaya
Dungar Dukh na de, Adaa de,
Dungar Dukh na de, Adaa de,
Pand pachadi aaya 
Bhalo Miya adda
Dungar Dukh na de,
 O miya
CREDITS:
Language: Sindhi
Producer: Clinton Cerejo
Vocals: Sawan Khan
Lyrics: Traditional Lyrics & Psalm 61
Choir: The Salvation Singers conducted by Dylan D’souza
Keys: Beven Fonseca
Keys: Aman Mahajan
Drums: Lindsay D’Mello
Guitar: Shon Pinto
Guitar: Nyzel D’Lima
Bass: Rushaad Mistry
Dholak: Aslam Dafrani
Dholak: Haneef  Dhfrani
Backing Vocals: Lynn D’souza
Backing Vocals: Thomson Andrews
Backing Vocals: Dwayne Leroy Gamree
Backing Vocals: Crystal Sequeira

4 Comments

If you have 'walked with me into the woods', a blog post at a time, do tell me how you felt in the comments section below :)

