Note to self…

An almost burnt-down lit candle on a candle ho...

SPENT… (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Get up, dust yourself and move on.

Two years back, I requested my masi to read out a vachan from the Guru Granth Sahib that she has at her home.

That post was titled “Saying Goodbye“. The time I wrote that post was also one of the most turbulent times I had gone through and I believed that the worst was over.

Quoting myself from that post,

Why is this post titled ‘Saying Goodbye?’ I am saying Goodbye to my old self.
Welcome change! I accept you with open arms. God is there with me.

I can share His plans with you. In hindsight, this is the vachan He gave me:

“Raam naam man deep dhar, jeeyan dehri dwaar.
Tulsi bheetar bahar, Je chahyes ujiyaar
Raam naam ur ur mein gahiyo, jaake sam nahin koye
Jeeya Simrat sankat mite darsh tuharo hoye.”

Meaning: “Be the candle at the doorstep of your home, that spreads light inside your home and into the world outside.”

THAT was meant to be my role. I shared with my mentor, that I took a very big decision in my life after this vachan. My Godfather my mentor and someone who I love deeply told me very sweetly, that my dear, it is so very clear that your role was to be the candle in someone’s life for a while. While you were doing that, you were also lighting your own self. But my dear, please remember that the candle has to burn itself out one day. It melts down to nothing and then, its role is over.

You have been that candle in someone’s life – perhaps in many lives that you believe benefitted by your being in some way. Your role is over. Pick up the pieces and move on, for you are made for better things in life. Your role as a candle was a part of your true calling. Keep working on it.

And his wife says, Punam, what is yours will never go. If it did, it was never yours.

To my mentor: I enjoyed being that candle. Although it burned me out, I shall cherish the pain too. I am not afraid of lighting myself all over again.

I leave you all with these pictures….  and a final thought:

People change, memories don’t. People can only add to you. Nothing is ever lost.

Dedicated to my mentors who have me wrapped in angel wings: Sampath ji and Beena ji

Dedicated to my mentors who have me wrapped in angel wings: Sampath ji and Beena ji

Love yourself. Period. Everything else will fall in place.

Love yourself. Period. Everything else will fall in place.

16 Comments

  1. You are lighting up our lives.. but not as a candle but as an eternal light which emanates form the depth of your soul..you will not consume your self with us but you will shine with enhanced brightness.In the process we will also shine brighter.you are the angel who has come into our lives and we thank the lord for that.

    Like

  2. Punam,

    Read 2 posts now. The videos says what true love is so well. One needs to have faith in self and God to face what so ever is in life. We need to do our best but accept whatever the results be. It is so true that what is yours will find a way to be with you and what is not you can never hold it back. Keep your chin up and you will win in the end.

    Take care

    Like

  3. Such a different aspect of your life is what I am getting to know today.. god bless… may be you were meant to be the candle – the candle to brighten up someone’s day. glad that you are still smiling 🙂

    Like

If you have 'walked with me into the woods', a blog post at a time, do tell me how you felt in the comments section below :)

