The God Complex

I was planning to write about the God complex for a long time now.
I wanted to be in the right frame of mind to do justice to the post.
This might sound as a rant… But it’s more of a retrospection about some things that I have been trying to understand about.

Now, there are all kinds of people in life. You meet hundreds of unique personalities, which is basically why the world’s psychiatry forums are in existence and flourishing.

But one many not be able to handle all kinds of people and that is exactly what people management is all about. There are some people who love to play ‘God’. I call it a ‘God Complex’.

These people think they are gifts to mankind, born with ultimate knowledge about ‘everything’ in the world, and have an opinion about everything under the sun. While having an opinion might not be an issue, poking into domain of others and dictating terms definitely becomes one. And a BIG one at that.

I have seen a lot of personalities, but this one type never ceases to amaze me. The fact that a person can be so foolish as to believe that he/she can challenge a domain expert on their domain in itself is a testimony of the fallacy that he/she is holding. Here’s to Admin vs. Content. #officepests literally, and symbolically too!!

I don’t have much patience in dealing with this type. Most of the times, I ignore. But when it gets difficult, I lash back, clearly stating that there is a line that can not be crossed. I think I am better off being an entrepreneur. That way, I can sack them. 🙂 Sounds good.

Apparently, Wikipedia defines God Complex as

“A person with a god complex may refuse to admit the possibility of their error or failure, even in the face of irrefutable evidence, complex, or intractable problems or difficult or impossible tasks, or may regard their personal opinions as unquestionably correct.”

Hmm.. I think Ernest Jones had enough encounters with such people, to have coined the term. Until now, I believed I had coined the term. What a disappointment!!

On that note, a couple of funny images on the obnoxious ‘God Complex’ and the ‘Dog’ complex:

God errr Dog Complex

God errr Dog Complex

The thin line

The thin line

If you have 'walked with me into the woods', a blog post at a time, do tell me how you felt in the comments section below :)

