Uber – A service par excellence and the Govt. wants to snub it!!

I really don’t want to get into specifics of what the Govt. wants to do with taxi service.

All I know, is that Uber has been the best cab service I have used till date. And the Government of India now wants to restrict its fleet and the ability to set prices. Why? I mean, Uber equals Quality, Reliability and Consistency. You get a cab each time and every time.

The drivers are trained – so they are very very courteous, unless an odd case here and there. But I must have had approximately 300 rides with Uber and I must say that the experience has been unlike anyone else.

Also it is worth mentioning how careless other cab companies are. I shall name one of them as I had quite a nightmarish experience. It was late night and Uber showed no cabs available. Which was why I had to book a cab by TaxiForSure. When the driver called up, he sounded really rude and I had an instinctive urge to cancel the booking. I cancelled it, and gave the feedback immediately. You won’t believe what happened next. The driver started calling me from another phone number consistently – and when I picked up, he asked threateningly, what I had written in the feedback. When I did not reply, he confirmed that he had called up the call center and the executive confirmed that I had given bad feedback.

Now, how dare the call center people reveal customer feedback to drivers? And how dare they fine drivers immediately – so he knows who has given bad feedback? Thank Goodness I did not fill in my address or the driver would have had those details as well. How dangerous this is??? And this does not stop here. The driver came to my pickup point to check who I was. I am not sure whether he would have recognized me, but yes, all the way back home, I was paranoid with the fear that he would follow me.

To ensure that no other girl would face a similar problem again, I escalated the issue to the manager at the call center. I received a stupid email from them:

We sincerely feel that we owe you an unconditional apology. Words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the anxiety, frustration and inconvenience that has been caused to you due to the cancellation of your booking made with us.

We strive to deliver the best and as a testament of that, we are working towards increasing our fleet so that we can service all our booking requests. We will take steps to ensure that this would not repeat again in future.

We value you as our customer and request you to please continue to provide feedback about our services.

Please write to us on ….. You can also find us on Facebook and Twitter.

We earnestly thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It will certainly help us in becoming better at what we do.

We would love to earn back your confidence and a smile on your face 🙂

Looking forward to serve you soon.

Thanks & Regards,

Darshana Pardeshi

Team Taxi For Sure !

This so called Ms Darshana Pardeshi – writes a nonsense sorry letter without course correction and future action to ensure that this incident doesnot happen again. I called back the customer care and asked to be connected to Ms Darshana. The lady said, Ms Darshana is not available, and would call me back in half an hour. It has been exactly a month and a half. No sign of the lady.

Needless to say, I uninstalled TaxiForSure from my phone. After this incident, their “offers” and newsletters have increased two-fold. I get an email from them once every 3 days.

Such a dangerous incident – had no attention at TaxiForSure.

Needless to say, this blog is not about TaxiForSure or Ola or any other cab service. It is about Uber – it is about the dignified drivers of Uber who talk to passengers with respect because they are trained to do so. It is about the reliability of Uber that a cab would pick you up in less than 15 minutes max.

If the scheme is implemented, it will render thousands of people jobless. Uber believes these rules actively discourage competition and consumer choice. If you also believe that, then you can sign the petition HERE.

Uber is customer-service personified. 100%.

Please show your support by blogging and writing about it.

Please share so that this reaches as many people as possible.

If you have 'walked with me into the woods', a blog post at a time, do tell me how you felt in the comments section below :)

