Unbroken

I am unbroken when you touch me to say I am there.

I am unbroken when you look into my eyes and show me that you care.

I am unbroken when you weep in my pain,

I am unbroken when you wipe my tears away

I am unbroken when you cup my cheeks in your palms

And tell me, “You know how much I love you?”

I am unbroken when you make my family whole

Unbroken when you make every wish come true

Unbroken when we make surprise plans

Unbroken when you love me crazy

Unbroken when you pull my leg and make me crazy

Unbroken when you are next to me, side by side,

In every path of life, every strife

You take me here, you take me there,

Unbroken when you care so much, you take me everywhere

Unbroken when you call them family

Tell them “I am there” and mean it from your heart.

Unbroken when you make my numbness your challenge

Unbroken when you pull me out and make me feel

The pit is dark and it’s deep, too deep

Unbroken when I invariably see your hand beckoning to me

No pit’s so deep that your benign eyes don’t call me

No challenge so tough that we can’t make it together

Yes this poem, Unbroken, is very personal.

I asked for A Walk into the Woods

I got the woods for a beautiful home

I can take a walk in the woods every day now

And what’s more, hand in hand with you, we go.

Unbroken is how you have turned me into,

Piece by piece, you wove my shattered bits.

Unbroken I am today because it was you

I never thought there’d be love as pure as you.

Unbroken is our past, unbroken our records

Unbroken we march, unbroken we unite.

It’s my promise to you, my love

Unbroken is how you’ll see me – A vow.

 

1 Comment

If you have 'walked with me into the woods', a blog post at a time, do tell me how you felt in the comments section below :)

