City on a Bike

“See, I am jussst a bit teensy weensy scared of bikes. Please don’t drive fast okay? It’s been a while.”

“Ha ha! Haanji. Got it.”

“So? What do you want to see?”

“You promised Charminar. :)”

“Okay ji. Charminar it is. Will show you Choodi Bazaar as well.”

“And Necklace Road too,” she said.

“Arre wahin se tho pass ho kar jaana hai.”

“OK”.

As they passed the necklace road, he exclaims, “Pehle batana tha na.. aapko poore Hyderabad ki sair karwata. Ab toh aap jaa bhi rahi hain.” (You should have told me before. I would have shown you the whole city. Now you are going away.)

“Well, by now, you would have guessed that it’s difficult for me to ask. And, to trust. I am not very social.”

Took 3 months for me and the time to leave, to comment that I did not sight see Hyderabad this time at all.

Well, that one comment changed everything and brought a very good friend in my life. As the wind breezed through my hair, I felt a sense of freedom that was never felt before. I had ice cream on the moving bike, and saved the empty wrapper in my hand bag (not littering of course), which became a classic jestful memory between us. And this is one person with whom I can speak with no holds barred.

There are very few people I respect in life. Integrity, honesty and a good heart are qualities that I admire. He is one of those few who have these qualities. I cherish and revere such jewels.

My mentor once said, “Every person in your life comes to add value to it.” I deeply believe this and have experienced that. Each one of us will, provided we open ourselves to the knowledge and become aware of the value we are receiving.

 

 

2 Comments

If you have 'walked with me into the woods', a blog post at a time, do tell me how you felt in the comments section below :)

