Most valuable gem

I bought some gem stones today.

Also a bracelet made with all the stones. But then, I was debating how much more to spend, for it’s an endless street. You go in, and unless your brain pulls you out, you just don’t stop. I got so attracted to Malachite that I just couldn’t express. I went wayyyy beyond my budget to indulge in … yes, gem stones.

8231173898_348f0f9435_b

The beautiful Malachite

But then that’s not what I want to tell you about.

This very benign gentleman, humble as ever, recognized me as soon as I entered Lucky Gems. He was very happy to see me. We got talking and he said he had just returned from Kashmir, having spent 20 days with his Sufi guru.

And I was really amazed. He was so humble. He said something that really struck me.

In his words,”My Guru says that we plan such huge things, big dreams, bigger houses, long cars, huge bungalows, loads of money, but we don’t realize that the ENTIRE life is inside just that O.N.E. L.I.T.T.L.E. H.E.A.R.T.B.E.A.T. That’s all. Jab tak woh dhadkan hai, tab tak zindagi hai.”

Now, can I say without a doubt that this bit of knowledge has made me millions more richer than any money would.

I told him, “Uncle, you know, what I just bought from you might be precious gem stones, but they are not the most valuable thing that I am taking away with me from you – it’s these words that you just said, that are precious.”

And I just came back home, ONLY to blog about this, and share my ecstasy with the world.

I will add pictures of my coveted bracelets and stones in my subsequent blog posts.

For now, I am mighty enchanted. Mmmm…

2 Comments

If you have 'walked with me into the woods', a blog post at a time, do tell me how you felt in the comments section below :)

